HuCPeR seeks to support and coordinate projects researching aspects of performance style, period and philosophy. The following performance and research-related projects have been undertaken by HuCPeR members to date:

Dr Inja Stanovic (Leverhulme Post-Doctoral Research Fellow)

“(Re)constructing Early Recordings: a guide for historically-informed performance” is a three year Leverhulme-funded research project on the production of early sound recordings. Led by Dr. Inja Stanovic at the Huddersfield University, this project reconstructs mechanical recording methods. Results, which integrate creative practice and theoretical research, will illuminate both performance and recording practices of the past, and elaborate a method for future research in this area. 

Inja Stanović is Croatian pianist and researcher. As a pianist, Inja has performed throughout the world, including concerts in Croatia, Australia, France, Germany, Italy, Slovenia, the United Kingdom, and the United States. Educated under auspices of Moscow State Conservatory, Paris Schola Cantorum, and Boston Conservatory, Inja finished her PhD at the University of Sheffield. Inja is a published author and has received numerous prizes for her research and playing. Most recently, she has won the prestigious Leverhulme Trust Early Career Fellowship, hosted at the University of Huddersfield. Inja is conducting a three year research project under the title “(Re)constructing Early Recordings: a guide for historically informed performance”. 


Four’s Company (current and past members including Amanda Babington, John Bryan, Graham Cummings, Duncan Druce, George Kennaway, David Milsom)

  • Concert performances of seventeenth-century music on period instruments, mainly in Huddersfield, but also in Leeds, York, and Sheffield.

The Meiningen Ensemble (including Dr David Milsom and Dr George Kennaway)

  • Concert Performances of Nineteenth- and Twentieth-Century Chamber Music Repertoire, to date in Huddersfield, Leeds, Hull, Lincoln, and Sheffield.
  • Forthcoming sound recordings include a disc of British violin sonatas (David Milsom, and Jonathan Gooing, to include the Elgar Violin Sonata, which was recorded in 2015), Mendelssohn, Gade, and Schubert piano trios (David Milsom, George Kennaway, and Jonathan Gooing), and Elgar Piano Quintet (performed with Huddersfield’s newly acquired 1897 Broadwood grand on October 29, 2015; David Milsom, Bianca Blezard, Jeremy Perkins, George Kennaway, Jonathan Gooing).

Ferdinand David Ensemble (David Milsom, with various colleagues at Leeds University, including Professor Clive Brown)

  • Performances of nineteenth-century string chamber repertoire on period instruments in experimental, research-driven ways, linked to the Collection of Historical Annotated String Editions (CHASE) project (funded by AHRC, 2008-2012).

CHASE Project (David Milsom, Duncan Druce, George Kennaway)

  • Scholarly commentaries upon historical string editions on the CHASE website.
  • This includes a substantial web-article and sound recordings (David Milsom – viola, Clive Brown, violin) – ‘W.A. Mozart: Violin and Viola Duos K423 & K424: The Ferdinand David ‘Uppingham’ Copies in Context and Performance
  • Whilst the website ceased to be funded after 2012, it remains active, and is augmented regularly.
  • David Milsom intends to discuss joint hosting of the project for future development, as a potential point of collaboration between the universities of Huddersfield and Leeds.

The Bach Violin Project (David Milsom, in collaboration with Sheffield-based recording engineer and videographer, James Bacon)

  • A project to record the unaccompanied violin sonatas and partitas, BWV 1001-6, for sound and video.
  • Performances aim to develop and experiment with musicologies of performance – the sonatas will be recorded in various aesthetic ways (modern instruments, eighteenth-century instruments and style, nineteenth-century instruments and style, twenty-first century instruments – including experiments with carbon fibre violins).
  • The project website, under development (February, 2016) will ‘showcase’ the project and will include, in due course, interviews, articles and scholarly commentaries on the works, and technical discussions concerning the equal partnership between David Milsom and James Bacon (a subject on which they presented in the Performance/Musicology research forum on January 26, 2016).

Rose Consort of Viols (John Bryan)

  • Internationally recognised concert performance activity
  • Commercial recording activity

The Making of the Viol in Sixteenth-Century England (John Bryan)

  • AHRC-funded project 2009-2014: A substantial organological study examining the interface between instrument manufacture and performing practice

Apartment House (Philip Thomas)

  • Internationally recognised concert performance activity
  • Commercial recording activity

John Cage Concert for Piano and Orchestra (Philip Thomas)

  • Three-year, AHRC-funded project led by Professor Philip Thomas and Professor Martin Iddon (University of Leeds)

Boxwood & Brass

  • Exploring forgotten 18th- and early-19th century wind chamber music and harmoniemusik, including a forthcoming CD featuring music by Johann Stamitz, Anton Rosetti, Franz Tausch and Bernhard Henrik Crusell
  • Recreating the recordings of the 1920s Leipzig Gewandhaus Wind Quintet on original instruments
  • Working with arranger and bassoonist Robert Percival to premiere new arrangements for period-instrument harmonie, including Mozart Piano Concertos K. 271, 365, 488, and 595 (in collaboration with John Irving and Ensemble DeNote)