Current and recent CeReNeM postgraduate students are establishing themselves with significant international careers, including:

  • Performances at Witten, Wien Modern, Märzmusik, Gaudeamus, ISCM World Music Days, impuls, STEIM, CCMIX, Darmstadt, hcmf//, Musica Viva, Transit, Ostrava Music Days, the Seoul International Computer Music Festival, Tectonics, Monday Evening Concerts, MATA, Munich Biennale, Mixtur, Klangspuren Schwaz, Time of Music, Tzlil Meudcan, Ars Electronica, ZKM, Transmediale
  • Commissions/compositions programmed by IRCAM, Klangforum Wien, Arditti Quartet, Ensemble Musikfabrik, Ensemble Intercontemporain, London Sinfonietta, ensemble recherche, ELISION, Ensemble Plus-Minus, EXAUDI, Ensemble Nikel, ensemble mosaik, BCMG, ASKO/Schoenberg Ensemble, Nieuw Ensemble, Ensemble Adapter, Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart, BBC Singers, Slaagwerkgroep den Haag, Quatuor Bozzini, Melbourne Symphony Orchestra, Oslo Philharmonic, Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Estonian National Symphony Orchestra, Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra, Iceland Symphony Orchestra, BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra, London Symphony Orchestra
  • Recordings on the Kairos, Another Timbre, empreintes DIGITALes, Durian, HCR, NaivSuper, Entr’acte, and HoffArt labels; scores published with York University Press
  • Awards: Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation Composers’ Prize, Gaudeamus Composition Prize, Jules-Léger Prize, Henriëtte Bosmansprijs, Buma Toonzetters Prize, Huygens Scholarship, Golden Nica Award, Ensemble Intercontemporain reading panel, Ernst Krenek Prize, SGAE- CNDM Young Composers Prize, BBVA Ayudas a Creadores Culturales Award, Paul Sacher Stiftung Research Scholarship, George Butterworth Prize, and three different current/former students have been won the Impuls International Composition Competition


CeReNeM Postgraduate Appointments:

Hakan Ulus (PhD 2020), Lecturer in analysis and aesthetics of contemporary music (postgraduate composition program), Gustav Mahler Privatuniversität für Musik in Klagenfurt, Austria; Winner: Impuls International Composition Competition (2019)

Jung In Jung (PhD 2019), Postdoctoral Research Fellow for Interactive Engagement, Innovation for Games and Media Enterprise (InGAME), joint project between Abertay University, University of Dundee, and St Andrews, UK

Cassandra Miller (PhD 2018), Associate Head of Composition (Undergraduate), Guildhall School of Music and Drama, UK; Winner: Jules-Léger Prize (2016)

Mira Benjamin (PhD 2019), Lecturer in Performance, Goldsmiths, University of London, UK

Braxton Sherouse (PhD 2019), Ableton

Abel Paúl (PhD 2017), Residency, Real Academia de España, Rome, Italy

Beavan Flanagan (PhD 2017), Adjunct Lecturer, Leeds College of Music, UK

Daniel Portelli (PhD, 2017), Adjunct Lecturer, Western Sydney University, Australia

Pia Palme (PhD 2017), 2019-2021 Senior Artist and Head of Project for 'On the Fragility of Sounds', KUG Kunstuniversität Graz, Austria; 2017 Staatsstipendium für Komposition, Austria; 2016 George Butterworth Prize, UK; 2016 Ernst Krenek Prize, Vienna

Matthew Reuben Thomas (MA 2017), ROLI

Rodrigo Constanzo (PhD 2016), Deputy Head of Popular Music & Module Coordinator - Musicianship, Royal Northern Conservatory of Music, UK

Seth Parker Woods (PhD 2016), Lecturer, Dartmouth College, USA (2017–19); Lecturer/Artist-in-Residence, University of Chicago (since 2019); Artist-in-Residence, Seattle Symphony Orchestra (2019–20)

Diego Castro Magas (PhD 2016), Lecturer in Guitar Performance and Chamber Music, Catholic University of Chile

Chong Kee Yong (PhD 2016), Professor of Composition (2016, visiting), Contemporary Music Centre, Shanghai Conservatory of Music, China

Pedro Alvarez (PhD 2014), Adjunct Lecturer at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts (WAAPA), Australia

Barbara Ellison (PhD 2014), Lecturer, Institute of Sonology, The Hague, The Netherlands

Jamie Fawcus (PhD 2014), Senior Lecturer, School of Informatics, University of Skovde, Sweden

Maria Gkotzampougiouki (MA 2014), Ableton

Nicolas Bernier (PhD 2013), Professor of Digital Music, Université de Montréal, Canada; 2013 Golden Nica Award, 2014 FETA Prize in Sound Art

Sebastian Berweck (PhD 2013), Lecturer, Philipps-Universität Marburg, Germany

Tamara Friebel (PhD 2013), Postdoctoral Research Fellow The Collaborative Mind  (2014-16), University of Graz, Austria

Scott Hewitt (PhD 2013), Senior Lecturer in Music Production, Leeds College of Music

Matthew Sergeant (PhD 2013), Senior Lecturer in Composition, Bath Spa University

Ray Evanoff (PhD 2012), Lecturer, University of New Orleans (2014); Visiting Lecturer, Harvard University (2019), USA

Einar Torfi Einarsson (PhD 2012), Research Fellow, Orpheus Institute Ghent (2013-14); Lecturer in Composition, Iceland Academy of the Arts

Timothy McCormack (MPhil 2011), Assistant Professor of Composition, Boston Conservatory at Berklee, Winner: Ernst von Siemens Music Foundation Composers’ Prize (2018); Winner: Impuls International Composition Competition (2019); Winner: George Arthur Knight Prize (2014); John Green Fellowship (2017)

Heather Roche (PhD 2011), Lecturer, Goldsmiths, University of London; Danish International Visiting Artists Fellowship 2014

Richard Glover (PhD 2010), Reader in Composition, University of Wolverhampton

Scott McLaughlin (PhD 2009), Lecturer in Composition and Music Technology, University of Leeds