StaffRoleContact

Dr Sarah Bastow

Head of History

Religious history of England and Europe in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries; the material culture of Catholic piety.

s.l.bastow@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472464

Dr Pat Cullum

Senior Lecturer

Medieval masculinity, especially clerical.

p.c.cullum@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472315

Dr Lindsey Dodd

Senior Lecturer

France in the Second World War (Vichy, Occupation, Resistance), in particular the experiences of children.

l.dodd@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472590

Professor Barry Doyle

Professor of Health History

Early twentieth century urban history, especially urban politics; the history of hospitals before the NHS; and the development of European welfare states.

b.m.doyle@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472452

Dr Robert Ellis

Senior Lecturer

Histories of madness and mental health care.

r.j.ellis@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472466

Dr Glenn Foard

Reader in Battlefield Archaeology

The archaeology and history of battles and sieges of the medieval and early modern period in the UK and Europe.

g.foard@hud.ac.uk

Dr Rebecca Gill

Senior Lecturer

The history of modern war, humanitarian aid and Empire.

r.gill@hud.ac.uk 

01484 471871

Professor Christine Hallett

Professor of Nursing History

C.Hallett@hud.ac.uk

01484 471017

Professor Keith Laybourn

Diamond Jubilee Professor of the University of Huddersfield

Labour history, working class gambling, the history of policing.

k.laybourn@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472091

Dr Katherine Lewis

Senior Lecturer

Medieval saints’ cults; lay masculine identities; late medieval representations of crusading.

k.lewis@hud.ac.uk 

01484 471870

Professor Tim Thornton

Professor of History

Late medieval and early modern political and social history of the British Isles, especially non-English territories of the crown.

t.j.thornton@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472531

Dr Alexander von Lünen

Senior Lecturer

Digital history and spatial history; the scientific culture of Nazi Germany.

a.f.vonlunen@hud.ac.uk 

01484 471410

Professor Wendy Webster

Professor of History

Modern British History, especially questions of ethnicity, race, imperialism, migration, refugee movements, national identity, gender and sexuality.

w.h.webster@hud.ac.uk 

01484 472397

Dr Vikram Visana

Lecturer in World History

Liberalism in non-European contexts.

V.Visana@hud.ac.uk

01484 478410  

Dr Chelsea Sambells

Lecturer in Modern European History

Second World War, especially children and youth.

C.C.Sambells@hud.ac.uk

01484 472590 

Emeritus and Visiting Researchers

StaffRoleContact

Professor Richard Morris

Emeritus Professor 

r.morris@hud.ac.uk

 

Professor David Taylor

 

Emeritus Professor 

d.taylor2@hud.ac.uk

Dr Onyeka Nubia 

Visiting Research Fellow Onyeka.Nubia@hud.ac.uk  

Prof John Shepherd

Visiting Professor